Cannot Sin

Cannot Sin

Jn 3:9 “Whosoever is born of God doth not commit sin; for his seed remaineth in him: and he cannot sin, because he is born of God.”

Those who would downplay sin in one’s life and this verse is quoted, it is automatically assumed that a Christian is being controlled beyond his will to never sin.  The strawman of “Sinless Perfectionism” raises its ugly head.

“Cannot” does not mean something that is beyond my control.  If one is abiding in Christ as he should, he CANNOT sin.  It does not mean he is incapable of sinning.  Sinning is a choice just as doing righteousness is a choice and these choices are within our control.  We all have a free will.  If a person wanted me to join him in taking the life of his enemy tonight, I CANNOT do it.  If my husband wanted me to get drunk tonight, I CANNOT do it.  Just because I CANNOT do it, does not mean that I am incapable of such actions.  I have a free will.  I certainly can if I wanted to.  It just means I CANNOT do it because I know it’s wrong and I don’t want to sin against God.   IF I sin, I am walking out of bounds of abiding in Christ and thus put my eternal destiny in danger.

More later…

About dividingword

For more info, please visit: www.dividingword.net
This entry was posted in Tid-Bits. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

