Let Me Pray About It First

It seems to me that Peter prayed the shortest prayer ever prayed.  When Peter is sinking in the water he cries out to Jesus, “Lord save me!”

Some would have us believe that we are not really praying unless we are on our knees for a few hours.  I know a lot of my prayers are short and simple for God already knows what is in my heart.  I pray for others and at times I ask God to give me wisdom to handle certain situations and leave it at that, trusting He will guide me.  Sometimes my heart gets heavy and I really don’t know what to pray for.  Sometimes it is difficult to articulate what is in my heart to words when at times all I have are sighs, tears, or am discouraged.  But God knows my heart and desires.  I have often said that, “Tears speak when words fail.”  My thoughts are always on God, reading the Bible, meditating on the Scriptures and to keep check on the attitude of my heart throughout the day.

I am reminded of the story of Moses just before parting the red sea.  It looks like God cut his prayers short.  The people were complaining when Moses was trying to encourage them.  Even though it doesn’t say Moses was praying, it shows me that Moses’ heart was engaged with God.  And then God says, “Why are you crying out to me? Tell the people to get moving!” (Ex. 14:15)

PrayingThis leads me wonder about the phrase, “Let me pray about it first.”  I can understand that in certain situations that a person must sincerely seek God’s wisdom and discernment before making a decision, but usually it can also be used as an excuse that will involve some sacrifice on our part.  I have seen it used as a way to stall in giving an answer; it is a “holy” deflection tactic, if you will.  If that person goes to the Boss and He says “no” to my request, then who am I to further ask you for help?  It seems at times the phrase is an excuse when there was no intention of saying “yes” in the first place to what we have asked for.  Our requests could be simple ones like, “Can you take me to the store?”  “Can you pick me up for the prayer meeting?”  “I am moving out of my apartment in a couple of weeks, could you help me?”   A lot of times it just takes getting us to “do” when we know we should.  Remember what God said to Moses?

“Why are you crying out to me?  Tell the people to get moving!”

Helping our brothers and sisters in need when we are able to does not involve prayer for direction, we should just do it.  (Matt.. 25:45)

“And he will answer, ‘I tell you the truth, when you refused to help the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were refusing to help me.’”

About dividingword

For more info, please visit: www.dividingword.net
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

